Philippines Philippines starts Energy Efficiency Excellence (EEE) Awards

New guidelines to recognize outstanding achievements in factories and buildings was issued

Philippines starts Energy Efficiency Excellence (EEE) Awards

On September 15, 2021, the Department of Energy (DOE) of Philippines published Department Order No. DO 2021-09-0014 “Guidelines on Energy Efficiency Excellence Awards”. The Energy Efficiency Excellence (EEE) Awards recognize successful energy-related projects pursuant to Section 26 of the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Act with the aim to promote best practices in energy conservation in designated facilities. The Ministerial Order stipulates the categories, eligibility, procedures, timelines and other related matters of the Awards. The Ministerial Order will take effect immediately.

The Ministerial Order can be viewed at the following URL:


Categories of the EEE Awards

The EEE Awards recognize excellent efforts with the following four major categories, each of which has several sub-categories. The number of awards to be given is specified for each subcategory.

  • EEE Award for energy management in industry or buildings
  • EEE Award for outstanding individuals or organizations
  • EEE Award for governmental organizations
  • EEE Special Awards

For example, the EEE Award for energy management in industry and buildings has subcategories of Industry, Buildings, and Green Building, each of which recognizes three awardees. Also, the subcategories of the EEE Awards for outstanding individuals or organizations include energy service company (ESCO), certified energy conservation officer (CECO), certified energy manager (CEM), and certified energy auditor (CEA). The EEE Special Awards also recognize energy conservation projects.



All designated facilities, governmental agencies, and energy managers with an annual energy consumption of more than 100,000 kWh are eligible to apply for the EEE Awards. However, in order to apply for the EEE Awards for energy management of industry or buildings, the facility must have been in operation for at least three years, including the fiscal year in which the application is submitted. The EEE Awards recognize the achievement in the current financial year.


Selection Process

When call for application is open, applicants will submit their self-assessment tool and entry form to the Awards’ Validation Committee. The Validation Committee will implement a preliminary review of the submitted documents and then request additional documents from the applicants, as applicable. These documents will be reviewed by desk evaluation, and if necessary, on-site verification to evaluate applications pursuant to the evaluation criteria established by the EEE Award Selection Committee. The EEE Award Selection Committee will deliberate and confirm the results of the desk evaluation and on-site verification, and select the successful candidates to be nominated to the DOE Secretary as awardees.

Applicants who pass all of the above evaluation items and are recommended by the EEE Awards Selection Committee will be awarded the EEE Awards.


Implementation Schedule

The application process starts in August, and the deadline for submission of application documents is September. From October to November, evaluation by the Verification Committee and final deliberation by the Selection Committee will take place. Successful applicants will be notified in November and the award ceremony will be held in December.

Author / Responsibility

AOKI Kenji

Senior Consultant, EnviX Ltd.
General Director, E&H Consulting Co., Ltd.

Business Performance

Expertise in EHS (environment, health and safety) consulting in ASEAN region.
- Environmental regulations updating
- Chemical regulations consulting


MSc in Earth Science, The University of Tokyo

AOKI Kenji